Sunday, July 5, 2009

Independence Day

So, being in Germany on the fourth of july was a bit weird.
The night before I was sitting around the dinner table with my host-mom, her ex-step-daughter, and her ex-step-daughter's friend, who was from hamburg, and in town for a wedding.
I was trying to explain independence day to them, only the ex-step-daughter knew what it was exactly. When i tried to tell the friend, her responce was "Oh, like the movie? With Will Smith? and Aliens?"
I actually have never seen that movie, as much of an "american classic" as it is, so I couldn't really tell yes or no. lolz.
But anyway, I explained briefly that it was when we told those brits we were keeping the island to ourselves.

For the actual 4th, I went to a free concert in berlin sponsored by a radio station here. I got to see some relatively famous bands, but there was so much talking by the radio DJs in between sets it got a little boring. the best part was that it was on a beach, with the stage on a giant dock thing in the water. I got to lay in the sand and feel it in between my toes and it was even warm enough to wear a bathing suit! I didn't get in the water, because it was so crowded, but man, i couldn't believe how happy i was to be on a beach. I think i'm gonig to go back another time this week, when there isn't a huge crowd.
The bands I saw were: the noisettes, pheonix, metro station, some girl who does pop, can't remember her name, and maximo park.
pheonix was relatively dissapointing, but I almost got to talk to the lead singer later in the day. Cindy and I (the girl i went with) were walking around and we ran into him, walking around by himself, and I recognized him and we made eye contact but then i was too nervous to say anything and I didn't want to be an obnoxious fan so I just looked at the ground and then he walked away. I felt so silly afterwards, especially since I totally could have gotten an autograph if not even a photo. oh well. so it goes.

I realized today that I have exactly two weeks before I am back in atlanta. A scary thought. So maybe the next two weeks I'll do lots of things and write lots of blogs about them! hopefully.
until then.
et

Sunday, June 7, 2009

My Weekend!

FRIDAY:
I went to see a play for my drama class called "Einsame Menschen." This translates to "Lonely Men" but I think the english adaptation is called "Lonely Lives" The play itself, which we had to read prior to the show, was written in 1891, and was not the most enthralling work I've ever read. It was a bit antiquated, and I was afriad the show was going to be rather boring. However, the adaptiation was actually quite super, and very modern. I think the way that it presneted the characters and monologues really worked, because I left the theatre feeling a wave of lonliness come over me. We've been talking in my drama class about dramatic vs. epic theatre - and how in dramatic it is all about feeling with the characters, whereas in epic its about not really relating to the characters as much, but having to think about them after, and how their position might reflect a position that one might be in, but unaware of. (nachdenken.) Of course I prefer epic theatre (that of brecht and beckett), and I was a little quick to dismiss the dramatic theatre (it seems like more of an escape, or high-brow soap opera), but I was moved by this play, which is good, because now I might understand the value of both types. After the play I went to one of my favorite places to hang out in berlin called Tacheles. It is an "arthouse" or art colony, that has a big field where lots of art pieces stand, and workshops and galleries in the building upstairs. There are also bars along the first floor, and a sandy area behind them where there are extensions of the bars and lots of cool art to sit on, and a stage. My friend cindy and i went there, and got some fresh squeezed orange juice, and listened to an electric cello player, who was playing over electronic music tracks. It was probably the coolest thing musically that i've seen in a while. He would switch from bowing to finger picking, and he made this instrument sound like a bass, a wind instrument, and even a voice at one point. He also had a pedal so he could make loops on the spot. Once it got a little darker, three fire dancers appeared, and "fire danced" to the music for a while. (they held these contraptions with fire balls on the end and swung them around). It was really cool, and it reminded me of LA for some reason. After we left tacheles, I met up with my friend Ned, and we went to some pretty lame party near franzosiche strasse, the only cool thing about which was that is was off the platz where the nazi's burned all the books in 1939. But the music was terrible poppy american music, so we quickly left. After that, we went to this club called Tresor, which we got into for free because my friend was on the guest list (hurrah!) and we stayed there until the night was the morning, at which point I finally made it home. I've realized it's always better, if you have it in you, to stay until it is light outside, instead of leaving in the middle of the night, because 1)you will not get lost on the way home and 2)eateries are open and 3)it is probably safer. SO, conclusion is, redbull or club mate is always a good investment.

SATURDAY:
I had my first "date" with a real german. His name is steven, and I met him at my favorite club about a month ago, when we met. I had somewhat forgotten about him, but then I got a call from him a couple days ago, and we arranged to meet up saturday at 8.
He was 15 mins late, (boo), and when he got here he hadn't really planned anything to do, exactly. Or maybe he was trying to keep it a surprise. We ended up walking all over Berlin for about two hours, when we finally got to this park, Trepptower Park, which had a small carneval/festival inside. We made it to the part of the park by the water at around 10:30, and then he told me that we should wait here, because there would be fireworks.
Of course this made me totally excited, because I haven't seen fireworks in a really long time. And these would be shot over the water of the river there - it was pretty picturesque.
The fireworks themselves weren't that great (i've probably seen better ones at baseball games),
but seeing fireworks is always cool even if the show isn't.
After, we walked back and he tried to find this bar that he wanted to go to, and after asking a few people we finally found it. (Steven has a car here, so he doesn't know how to get places on foot as well, from the station.) The bar was called stereo33, and was very chic, and was NOT your typical beer-laden berlin bar. I think it was my first time getting an actual mixed drink at a club. But it was a caipirinha, and it was very good. After that, it was probably after midnight, and I was really tired, so I went home, and I think (in true berlin fashion) since Steven wasn't tired he went to a club to "start" his real night. Hilarious.

Tuesday, June 2, 2009

Island Influence Creates Magic in Streets of Berlin

Hello all,

This weekend was a holiday weekend here - Pfingsten.
I'm not exactly sure, but I think it has to do when the Holy Spirit came and spread his presence through the world.
This weekend is celebrated also by a huge "karvenal der kultures" - which is a festival that happens to be located right by my apartment. I heard sounds of it from friday afternoon until monday night.
The festival is actually influenced hugely by latin america, jamaica, cuba, etc. There were tons of island beats, reggae shows, and caipirinhas. My host woman started out the weekend by making jerk chicken legs, which were probably the best thing i've eaten in a while.
During the festival I saw:
-a talking parrot
-a girl with a pet mouse on her shoulder
-more than 100 people with dredlocks
-more black people than i've seen in berlin this whole time put together
-fire dancers
-traveling drummers
-fortune tellers and henna painters
-lots of old german men dancing to carribean music.

It was probably the most entertaining and cultural thing i've done in berlin so far, it was a blast.
I did take a couple of photos, but again, have yet to get them developped, so they'll be on the flickr as soon as it's up and running!

Also, I realized it's already JUNE! that means i only have a month and a half let here! yoikes!

Monday, May 25, 2009

I'm a Failure at Blogging

So, I know it has been a couple months since my last update.
Hopefully this means that I've been too busy to have time to blog, since I've been doing so much here!
I decided the best way to resolve this is to feature the highlights of the past two months:

1. Kate Flynn visited. It was Easter weekend and really good to have company. She made me do all the touristy things I'd been avoiding - and we went to a bunch of exhibits. The funny thing is, two of the exhibits we went to I had already seen in Atlanta. We saw an exhibit called "Tödliche Medizin" which translates to "deadly medicine" The exhibit followed the development of eugenics in before and during Nazi Germany. This exhibit I actually saw at the CDC last summer, when my dad made me go, because it would be "educational." The exhibit here was at the Jewish Museum, and I think the context made me pay a little bit more attention this time. We also went to an Annie Lebowitz exhibit, which I had seen (twice) at the High Museum of Art in Atlanta last year. Kate and I also went to some things that were new to me, the coolest was the Pergammon museum, which holds remnants of the Ishtar Gates. Very cool.

2. I went to see a band April 9 called the "POLKAHOLIX", which was a Polka-Ska band. Germany meets Southern California to a Tee. It was amazing. The horn section was to die for, and the upright bassist had pyrotechnics involved in his playing.

3. I went to see the band Fischerspooner, and made it to the front center of the stage, and got their best known song "Never Win" dedicated to me by the lead singer. It was heart-stopping.

4. I went to see the Yeah Yeah Yeahs at the Columbiahalle, which happened to be walking distance from my Wohnung (apartment), and I got interviewed by some German TV show after the concert. And of course, I spoke in German, which is a big accomplishment for me. Hurrah!

5. I didn't fail any of my midterms, which happened last week. In fact, I actually proved to myself that I can write in german for multiple pages, in class. HUGE accomplishment.

6. For other plays/performances I've seen, which don't need to be discussed in great detail: Verdi's Aida (my first opera ever), "Warten auf Godot", "Ritter, Dene, Voss", and "Die Dreigroschenoper"

7. I have Skype now, and can call american phones, which also might be why I haven't updated this, I've mostly been talking in person to the people who would read this. My skype name is emilytaylor19. and if you want me to call your american phone line, send me an email with a time and I'll try!

I think that is all for the list, I'll try to be better about updating it from now on!

Sunday, March 22, 2009

Dichter Emily

So, we had to listen to a song in my German class, called "Schwarz zu Blau" - it is by reggae-influenced white rapper Peter Fox, and is basically about how ugly berlin can be. So, as a homework assignment, we had to write a little poem/paragraph about what we see when we go onto the streets of berlin. It's in german, obvoiusly, but I figured I should post it here, in case you want to stuggle through it.

Berlin

Der Straßenkehrer geht unter meiner Wohnung.
Es reicht, und ich halte meinen Atem.
Aber um die Ecke gibt es die Bäckerei,
und ich kann das Brot riechen.
Ich nehme einen tiefen Atemzug.
Und dann, gibt es den Blumenmarkt,
und die Blumen riechen auch gut!
Die Leute sind eilig und hastig auf der Straße,
aber unten, in der U-bahn, sind sie ruhig und still.
Der Himmel ist immer grau,
und die Bäumen sind nicht grün.
Ich freue mich auf das Frühjahr.
Man kann sehen den Himmel
unter den Linden.
Berlin, du bist im Ruhezustand.
Aufwachen!

I've Landed, Now I'm Grounded

Since the last post, I've been going to school, doing the sight-seeing thing, and taking a few pictures. I've talked to a couple people about where to get these said pictures developed, but haven't gone out and truly investigated yet. However, I do have a couple I'd like to share.
As a tourist, it is hard not to look up at the sky and buildings around you - but as a foot traveler, it is also hard not to look at the ground upon which you are stepping. That said, I've been really impressed with the roads around here. Asphalt seems to be rather sparingly used, and cobble-stone work is quite extensive. Here is my first photo collection of Berlin - the ground series. I realized that the first couple weeks I may have had my head in the clouds, and so now it's time to ground myself. Literally. Here you go!









Sunday, March 15, 2009

German Tacos

So, last night, my host made tacos. This is what was on the table when we sat down:
(all ingredients to go into the tacos)

-taco shells, heated
-red beans (like out of a can and heated. but very good)
-ground beef that had been seasoned with red curry and another indian spice mix she uses quite often. made for pretty spicey beef
-cut up and lightly cooked red bell beppers
-sauteed zucchini
-yogurt that had been combined with lemon juice
-a salad (iceberg lettuce, chopped up) that was already dressed with vinegar and lemon juice
-goat cheese, broken up

Now, imagine putting that all inside a taco shell and eating it. it was probably the best meal i've had in a long time. it was almost a Mediterranean/Indian take on tacos... I'm not sure but it was wonderful.

I think I've mentioned, my host, Beate, has another guest in the apartment now. A french woman she's known for 30 years, who's name is Bergert, is staying next door to me. I think she's going to stay for about 4 weeks. Should be interesting to coordinate bathroom times. Bergert is around more than Beate, and has been helping me practice my german. It was her computer that I got online the other day. It's funny though, to sit and chat with these two 50-something woman, a french and a german - we had pretty great conversation over those tacos and some red wine. Also, it came out in conversation that they both had september birthdays - which means that really about 75% of adults that i've been hanging out with since december have been Virgos.
I couldn't believe that I hadn't asked Beate before, I thought maybe she was just really clean because all germans are clean, or because she was having a guest in her house. but REALLY it's just because she's a virgo. To those of you who know me, you might find it hard to believe, but i've been keeping a pretty straight room here. It's easy because all of my clothes actually fit into my closet all at the same time. Which probably isn't true for any other room I've lived in for any extended amount of time. Oh, I haven't added to my wardrobe at ALL since I've been here. I haven't really even gone shopping! I walked into one boutique recently and saw some galoshes (of course my favorite) shaped like cowboy boots - with the cowboy boot-esque heel, the pointed toe, the curved edges at the top, and a very western design. If it gets even more rainy I MIGHT have to break down and get them. They really are one of a kind. They are kindof like this, but with a better western pattern: