Sunday, March 22, 2009

Dichter Emily

So, we had to listen to a song in my German class, called "Schwarz zu Blau" - it is by reggae-influenced white rapper Peter Fox, and is basically about how ugly berlin can be. So, as a homework assignment, we had to write a little poem/paragraph about what we see when we go onto the streets of berlin. It's in german, obvoiusly, but I figured I should post it here, in case you want to stuggle through it.

Berlin

Der Straßenkehrer geht unter meiner Wohnung.
Es reicht, und ich halte meinen Atem.
Aber um die Ecke gibt es die Bäckerei,
und ich kann das Brot riechen.
Ich nehme einen tiefen Atemzug.
Und dann, gibt es den Blumenmarkt,
und die Blumen riechen auch gut!
Die Leute sind eilig und hastig auf der Straße,
aber unten, in der U-bahn, sind sie ruhig und still.
Der Himmel ist immer grau,
und die Bäumen sind nicht grün.
Ich freue mich auf das Frühjahr.
Man kann sehen den Himmel
unter den Linden.
Berlin, du bist im Ruhezustand.
Aufwachen!

I've Landed, Now I'm Grounded

Since the last post, I've been going to school, doing the sight-seeing thing, and taking a few pictures. I've talked to a couple people about where to get these said pictures developed, but haven't gone out and truly investigated yet. However, I do have a couple I'd like to share.
As a tourist, it is hard not to look up at the sky and buildings around you - but as a foot traveler, it is also hard not to look at the ground upon which you are stepping. That said, I've been really impressed with the roads around here. Asphalt seems to be rather sparingly used, and cobble-stone work is quite extensive. Here is my first photo collection of Berlin - the ground series. I realized that the first couple weeks I may have had my head in the clouds, and so now it's time to ground myself. Literally. Here you go!









Sunday, March 15, 2009

German Tacos

So, last night, my host made tacos. This is what was on the table when we sat down:
(all ingredients to go into the tacos)

-taco shells, heated
-red beans (like out of a can and heated. but very good)
-ground beef that had been seasoned with red curry and another indian spice mix she uses quite often. made for pretty spicey beef
-cut up and lightly cooked red bell beppers
-sauteed zucchini
-yogurt that had been combined with lemon juice
-a salad (iceberg lettuce, chopped up) that was already dressed with vinegar and lemon juice
-goat cheese, broken up

Now, imagine putting that all inside a taco shell and eating it. it was probably the best meal i've had in a long time. it was almost a Mediterranean/Indian take on tacos... I'm not sure but it was wonderful.

I think I've mentioned, my host, Beate, has another guest in the apartment now. A french woman she's known for 30 years, who's name is Bergert, is staying next door to me. I think she's going to stay for about 4 weeks. Should be interesting to coordinate bathroom times. Bergert is around more than Beate, and has been helping me practice my german. It was her computer that I got online the other day. It's funny though, to sit and chat with these two 50-something woman, a french and a german - we had pretty great conversation over those tacos and some red wine. Also, it came out in conversation that they both had september birthdays - which means that really about 75% of adults that i've been hanging out with since december have been Virgos.
I couldn't believe that I hadn't asked Beate before, I thought maybe she was just really clean because all germans are clean, or because she was having a guest in her house. but REALLY it's just because she's a virgo. To those of you who know me, you might find it hard to believe, but i've been keeping a pretty straight room here. It's easy because all of my clothes actually fit into my closet all at the same time. Which probably isn't true for any other room I've lived in for any extended amount of time. Oh, I haven't added to my wardrobe at ALL since I've been here. I haven't really even gone shopping! I walked into one boutique recently and saw some galoshes (of course my favorite) shaped like cowboy boots - with the cowboy boot-esque heel, the pointed toe, the curved edges at the top, and a very western design. If it gets even more rainy I MIGHT have to break down and get them. They really are one of a kind. They are kindof like this, but with a better western pattern:

Friday, March 13, 2009

Die Sonne Scheint in Berlin

Das ist richtig, die Sonne scheint in Berlin!

(that's right, the sun shines in berlin!)

My whole visit here, the sky has been grey. Sightings of the sun have been few and far between, so much so that whenever any of the IES kids see the sun, we point it out. literally.
So, today has been the first actually sunny day, and it is great.
I didn't get up early enough to go on the optional field trip to Postdam, but I think it's okay, i'm enjoying the sun here in Kreuzberg.

I went out to a club called Zapatas last night, and saw a DJ who calimed to play "Pop-punk/Electronica/Funk", but I really don't think that was an accurate description... There was little funk to be had. He DID play that eve/gwen stefani song from forever ago, and also some oasis near the end. very weird. Also he played Kids (MGMT), and no one acted like they had heard it before. I don't know if that is good or bad. I hope that they are over it and it's not that is hasn't come here yet. I don't know if I can go for another round of that song becoming popular (summer 2008 in atlanta and then fall 2008 at pomona...gah)
Also, german boys are not as cute as expected, and even worse dancers. Hopefully it's just that I need to find the right club.

My german is slowly improving, and I can communicate better with not only my host-frau but also with german computers. I helped a guest of my host-frau set up her wireless network on a PC operating with Vista in German. I consider this my finest ITS accomplishment yet.

I've been taking pictures, but I've been using my new HOLGA that takes real film, and i've yet to find a good place to get it developped here, not to mention then finding a scanner so I can put them here. I'll have to set up a Flickr when I get back to put them all up! Hopefully I can find a good camera store soon.

Tuesday, March 10, 2009

German News Stories, and My Day

So, I've been watching a lot of TV in german, and THIS was on the news tonight.

http://hermann.blog.com/4688609/
http://www.spiegel.de/reise/europa/0,1518,612016,00.html

I don't know which "news source" has better pictures, but the whole thing is rather hilarious.
Made me almost laugh out loud, and get excited for the snow that might happen later this week. So far it's only been cold, and then cold and rainy.

Today I woke up with a very sore throat, and cough, a sinus headache, and congestion, and I decided it would be better for me not to go to my 4 hours intensive german class. I almost made it there, but instead I went to my local Apotheke (drug store), and bought feel-better drugs. By the afternoon I indeed feel better, and so when a very nice kid from my class brought me the papers/worksheets I had missed, we decided to go on a walk before going back to IES headquarters for an orientation at 3:30. We went to checkpoint charlie, and then got some döner (slash I just got a coca-cola), and then headed to the IES center, where I was given a frank talking to about missing class. I should have called IES and emailed the professor! But with the sinus headache, somehow that slipped my mind. I guess absence is really frowned upon, so I shouldn't get sick anymore.
To give myself some credit, I've been taking a multi-vitamin, getting almost 10 hours of sleep every night, and also drinking alcohol to kill the foreign germs... but my "oh-so thought out" plan failed and i got the "you're not familiar with foreign germs" cold.
But it IS better, and now I get to start filling out the 15 worksheets I missed.
I hope my german gets better soon.

That's all for now, check in later for more scandalous german news stories!

Monday, March 9, 2009

First Day of School

It was my first day of intensively relearning German in the classroom!
The group of 40 or so was split into three groups, which basically, although were based on a placement test, ended up being the people who 1) have lived or studied here before, or have a german parent, 2)took german in high school, and then college, and 3)took german only in college. I am obviously in the third group. It was a very fun easy first day, although i constantly was frustrated with my vocabulary. We had to talk about kultureschock (culture shock) in german, and there were so many things i wanted to say but couldn't really find german words to express.
Who knows, there are some things that it might even be hard to find english words to describe!

It is hard being in a culture where you really can only understand about 25% of the words and signs around you. I was in the grocery store earlier, and had the hardest time picking out cheeses and meats because all the names are different, and i don't know what the weights are. Can't really say "i'll have a 1/4 pound of the black forrest ham." But that said, I definitely am learning, and trying to take it all in.

I ended up just standing in line and watching other people for a while, but then i felt like a creeper, but, it all worked out in the end - and I put all my groceries in a perfect bag from San Fran for christmas (because you either bring your bag to the market or you have to buy one! even the plastic ones are .15 euro!). And then I walked my four blocks home, and up my four flights of stairs, and convinced myself I still had enough energy to cook and eat, and I've just finished my first home cooked by me german meal. (Other nights there was free food from IES or Beate cooked for me, or the IES kids and I went out as a group.)

So, now, to relax, do my german homework, and possibly catch some German MTV.
Tschuss!

Sunday, March 8, 2009

My First Woche in Berlin

So,
I've been here for almost a week.

I arrived last Monday, and spent the night in the hostel, as recorded below.

Tuesday I checked into IES, met my new compatriots, and got some mug-shot-esque pictures taken for my public transit card and other official documents. I met my host-frau, Beate, who lives at the Merhingdom stop, which connects to both the U6 and U7.
My room is huge, probably 4x the size of my Smiley dorm. It has big windows spanning an entire wall, and very simple and aestheically pleasing cherry funiture.
It also has a TV. This is the first time, in my life, that I've had a TV in my room. It's very weird, and I've only watched it once. German TV consists of a lot of dubbed american shows, and it plays into that whole "familiar but different" feeling I've had since I arrived.
The apartment is up four flights of stairs, and my windows overlook a cemetery. Which actually (as morbid as it sounds) is nice because it is therefore a quiet street, and there is greenery all around.

Wednesday we had meet and greet at IES, and spent the whole day filling out forms. Then we walked about the city in predetermined groups and had a mentor-tour-guide pointing out things along the way "Hier ist a bank, hier ist a post-office, heir is a good club." After that we all ate dinner together, and then some of us went out later that night. We bar hopped around, and I realized that a beer in Germany is a LOT bigger than one in the US, which is sad, because the feeling of satisfaction when one is done is still the same. It got me into trouble, since we went to three places, so I had a beer at each one, and two and the last, and 4 beers is really like, 2 litres, and I don't think that that is really a reasonable amount for a person my size to consume. Anyway getting up the four flights of stairs THAT night might have been the most treacherous thing I've done thus far.

Thursday I made it to the IES center by 10, and attended the computer training session (which was really really a joke.) I was very upset it was cutting into my sleep time. We had lunch at an Italian restuarant, in a big group of probably about 10 or 12 kids. We were the only ones in the restaurant, so the very italian waiter gave us special attention. In particular, he gave me very special attention. He commented on the the yellow in my hair, and the yellow scarf I had on, and my "yellow" orange juice, and then he decided to draw a picture of me, in front of the whole group. It was actually really embarassing. He was so much a charicature of Italian men it made me crack up - he kept saying "Mamma Mia!" and gesturing with his hands. He told our group if we ate there every day he would give us a 20% discount. But I doubt I'm going back. I got to keep the picture, so if I can find a scanner somewhere I'll post is here. It's really funny. After lunch I was really tired and pretty much kept nodding off in the health and safety lecture. When I got home I went immediately to sleep, and didn't wake up until Friday morning. (Actually like 2 in the morning Friday morning, but then I had nothing to do so I just went back to sleep.)

Friday we had the placement test at IES for german, and although I don't think I did as well as I should have, I don't think that they really ever kick people out for doing poorly on the test. After, we went to lunch, and then had a meet and greet with the german students who work/study for/at IES. It was awful - there was one activity where we had to get up and tell a story in german - like an embarassing moment or a memory from childhood, and since i was in the front row and have some bright yellow hair, i got picked early on. I actually got really nervous and told them I had stage fright (which is actually not really true) so that I didn't have to go. But of course now I just feel like a wimp. But even though I have no problem with speaking in front of people, I really can't comfortably speak german in front of large groups of people yet. On the spot. Of an embarassing moment. Gah. That night some kids and I went out to a hostel bar (very lame, but not my choice) and played a little pool. Then I went home and watched german TV for the first time. And German MTV is now my favorite channel.

Saturday I went and finally got chargers, and then plugged stuff in, and then went out with friends. This was my first actual good night in berlin, or at least what I was expecting out of a night in berlin. We went early and took beers on the S-bahn around the city. After our "booze cruise" we went to a bar and danced and got more drinks, then we went to a different bar because someone got kicked out of the bar we were in, and we danced to some electro, then we left that bar, starting walking back to the other one because we had lost the person who had gotten kicked out, and decided to stop for Currywurst on the way there. Currywurst is this wonderful street food that is like a cut up patak style sausage with ketchup and curry power on top of it. It either comes with a piece of bread or pommes frites. (french fries). Anyway it was super and we went to the other dance club until we decided to leave (it was about 2:30 or 3:00 at this point). BUT on the way out of the club we saw a poster for Total Science (a drum n bass duo) that had a concert that night, so we decided to ask someone where it was. It turned out to be nearby, so we arrived at 3 and the duo had just started. After 2.5 solid hours of dancing and moving to loud bass, we decided to go home, and after figuring out the public transportation, I made it home at about 6AM. The stairs were not so daunting after all the physical activity of the night, but when I got to my bed, I crashed, and woke up pleasantly about 3 hours ago. Hurrah for my first week in Berlin!

Saturday, March 7, 2009

Whirlwind in Berlin

Since my last blog, my life has been way to busy and crazy to make a new post.
Also I didn't have an adapter for my computer until today.
BUT, today I bought adapters for my computer and cell phone, so expect the internet-addicted Emily we all know to be back shortly.
But, I must go meet friends very shortly, we are going on a drink around the S-bahn, the metro line that circles the city.
hurrah!

Monday, March 2, 2009

Helter Skelter

Monday 1:37pm

I made it to the Helter Skelter hostel in Berlin Mitte.
Last night proved somewhat difficult, I overpacked my bag and it weighed too much.
I should have packed two smaller ones instead of one big one, but that would have made transporting them by myself more difficult. Anyway I had to unload 14 lbs or pay 150 US dollars.
It ended up alright, and I have a new duty-free LeSportsac carry-on sized piece. Very cute.

It was a lousy mistake to make, since everyone told me to weigh the bag before I left, but It's all okay now. Actually, that is false. When I claimed my bag at the berlin baggage claim, it had been damaged while in flight. One of the wheels is split, and although it still rolls, it makes a cla-clunk cla-clunk sound. It was really embarassing, in the land of masterfully engineered and designed everything.

The case just has to make it one more day, really. And then I won't have to worry about it for another 5 monthes.

So I'm in the hostel, HELTER SKELTER, formerly known as the Club Hostel, and am about to take a nap. Tomorrow I check in to IES, and finally get to go stay with my homestay family (woman). Looking foward to that.

Sunday, March 1, 2009

Departure

2:17PM in Atlanta, GA -
It is roughly 4 hours until my flight to Frankfurt, and has begun to snow for the first time this winter in Atlanta. It is a rare occurance, and I think it is weird to be saying good-bye to a snow-capped and drizzly atlanta to arrive in a similarly climated Berlin. I hope my flight isn't delayed.

PS: Welcome to what is to become my travel blog!